State of Play

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this film. Based on the cast, I’d hoped it would be decent, and the previews definitely caught my attention.

Now, I’m not going to go into a long-winded review of this film, because to be honest, I don’t know that I could. Ok, I could, but it would be unnecessary. It was what it was. It was a good film, with great acting, and a good story.

Overall, the acting was great, (I love Rachel McAdams, and Russell Crowe is awesome) and the plot was great. It showed the real meaning of great journalism, and getting to the truth of the matter. What really counted…not exploitation, not cutting out facts or only telling part of the story. Something most of our press nowadays needs a good lesson in. I would go into more detail, but I don’t want to be one of those types. I hate spoilers.

The only real qualm I have with it was the cinematography. I wasn’t sure what Rodrigo was going for. There were some very beautiful shots throughout the film. Other times, very not-so-beautiful shots. It seemed every time they went to hand-held, the shot fell apart. Also, some of the the shots went back and forth between hand-held and steadicam quite frequently sometimes between characters and it was distracting. I actually walked out of the theater with a headache. It wasn’t Bourne Supremacy, but at times, it was bad.

So, technicalities aside, I really enjoyed this film and would recommend it.

About this entry