Inglourious Basterds

Inglourious Basterds

Fact is, I get pumped when I hear about a new Tarantino film. I was excited about it from the moment I heard he was remaking the Inglorious Bastards film. I myself really enjoyed the original in all it’s cheesy glory, but I was excited to see what Quentin would do with the original framework of the story.

First off, let me say, I really enjoyed this film. I have yet to be really disappointed by Tarantino. I’d even go as far to say that, so far,  it’s my favorite film this year. That being said, it doesn’t make it the best film that was made this summer. (I still think Public Enemies is the best film this year and I’m not sure if it will be topped.) Quentin Tarantino has a way of making every one of his films a lot of fun. I admire the guy for sticking to his style…the flow of his films…how they have slower, dialogued parts, mixed in with action/drama and always great timing with his humor…it works. To me, it creates a sense of realism, and I enjoy even the slowest moments of his films. (I also think if more people watched older films, they might be more inclined to like his style.)

roth and pitt

About Inglourious Basterds…it’s a long film…yes, you may start to feel parts of it, but  I didn’t find any of it to be a bore. I think a lot of people will have a problem accepting this film for what it is…I blame the trailer.  It’s in fact, not focused mainly on the Basterds themselves like most would expect. Instead, it focuses mainly on one French-Jewish girl (played wonderfully by Mélanie Laurent) seeking revenge for her family’s death…and this is what I love about  Tarantino. Most filmgoers are going into this film like it’s a Robert Rodriguez film with hacking, slashing, head bashing, blood, guts and entrails sort of Nazi-killin. It’s not. Yes, there are parts that are bloody or that may cause a flinching gasp (sissy), but no more so than most of Tarantino’s films (or an episode of CSI for that matter). Again, this is why I love Tarantino…he may have a really dark sense of humor but he’s classy.

Mélanie Laurent as Shosanna Dreyfus

Also, I know a lot of people are complaining about not really getting to know the Basterds. Again, IT’S NOT ENTIRELY ABOUT THEM. Sure, he could have run through their backgrounds a little more maybe in voiceover or something, but it wasn’t all that necessary for this film…it wouldn’t have made much difference. And sure, I would have liked to see a little more maybe of the Basterds doing some of their ambushing and whatnot, but I don’t need it to be the whole film.

christoph-waltz

Also, I loved the soundtrack. I feel Quentin has a real knack for picking songs. In this film, we get to hear a lot more of Ennio Morricone’s work from his various earlier spaghetti western films like The Big Gundown and The Return of Ringo, as well as some other great tracks from older films. His placement of David Bowie’s “Cat People”  is fantastic. I loved it…who couldn’t enjoy that?!

So, overall,  If you have a dark sense of humor like me, and love Quentin’s work, you’ll like this film. I think Tarantino could have taken a little more time to perfect this film, but I thoroughly enjoyed it, Brad Pitt was fantastic, Christoph Waltz was amazing and it was simply a blast!

If you haven’t seen the original Bastards film, you should check it out. Netflix it, buy it…I think they even recently put it on RedBox.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076584/

[Side notes—You’ll also get a teasing sneak peak at Christopher Nolan’s “Inception” before the film. Also, having taken 4 years of German, it was nice being able to understand the German that was spoken without subtitles. Not to say any of it was that important, but it’s just a bonus for any of you who speak Deutsch. And I thought it was a nice touch making Bo Svenson playing the American Colonel (Bo was in the original as Lt. Robert Yeager)…and anyone else catch the cameo? I swear Quentin is the first guy scalped on camera.]

inglourious-basterds

About this entry